2014 is a Nice and Steady Awesome

Sitting in my scrubs and hoodie and watching Karate Kid 2 tonight seems a bit anti-climactic considering it’s the last day of the year. Between battling gooey Christmas brownies and working through nasal congestion, I somehow missed the fact that 2014 is about to pass.

My 2014 has been awesome. Not mind-bending, front-of-rollercoaster awesome, but, a nice, steady AWESOME. My 2013 ended on a high note given it was my worst year ever. And my 2014 carried  that winning streak.

In 2014, I became a bridesmaid, a driver, US working visa holder, an OFW, a godmother and a full fledged RPT, licensed in three US states. Awesome.

image

I have worked two jobs and lived to tell the tale. I have left a job knowing I’ve touched many people. I’ve traveled to different places on my own. I’ve met many new people and have been welcomed by them. And in a place teeming with different cultures and races, I’m learning how much of a Filipino I am…and also, how much I’m not. Awesome.

image

There are two things I’ve learned this year, and these are not mind blowing facts. I learned that great things often come in subtle packages. I’ve also learned that in all things, have courage always.

So, what do I have in store for myself? I think I’ll go for greater savings, healthier body, a newly acquired language, a doctorate degree, my first trip to South America and lastly but just as important if not more so, a love relationship. There are 365 days in 2015, might as well make the most of it.

Thank you 2014. You were awesome.
Welcome 2015. Let’s leave it at that for now.

image

Leave a Reply

